Review of “Firaaq”

I found Firaaq to be surprisingly a very good film. I was initially skeptical, as I do not usually like multiple narrative films (like Traffic and Babel). However, this did do a lot of things right. I didn’t find the switching of the narratives to be at all confusing, and it give the characters with more emotional weight the proper amount of screen time, such as Arati, Sameer, and Moshin. I actually liked the blending of languages (though I can’t tell the difference between English and everything else), although I did think it odd, as it’s something not commonly seen in American culture.

I did have some criticisms though. I did not like how the movie ended, as I felt it was a very cheap way to keep the “indie film” feel alive, though the movie did not need it. I think that more closure was needed with some of the characters. Leaving a bit of interpretation is fine, but too much just leaves too many questions. What is the fall-out of Hanif being assaulted (did he die?), leaving behind a wife and newborn? What was the deal with the marbles? Is Aarti coming back or going for good? For someone like me that has a very limited knowledge and understanding of the subject matter, I think some of these questions should have been dealt with.

Overall, it is a great and powerful film that is equal parts drama and thriller. It has its flaws, but what it does well it excels in. In hindsight, I’m so glad this movie was suggested over Slumdog Millionaire. After all, winning an Oscar doesn’t mean your movie is enjoyable (The English Patient. Trust me, it really sucks).

Firaaq

Image via Wikipedia

Rating: 7.5 out of 10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Justin O'Riley. Bookmark the permalink.

About Justin O'Riley

A self-professed "nerd," I love to write about things that make me "geek" out, especially video games, film and tv, fantasy/sci-fi, pro-wrestling, football, and retro stuff. I'm a father of a wonderful daughter who drives me to nothing less than the best!

2 thoughts on “Review of “Firaaq”

  1. I agree with the ending. I actually looked down at my phone to check the time and looked back up at the screen to see credits rolling. I had to ask someone if I missed anything. I’m not familiar with Indie film, so I’m going to take your word for it in saying it’s keeping with the style and leave it at that.

  2. I agree with you about the open interpretations though some I thought fit pretty well into the film. I actually assumed Hanif dead due to the amount of blood and lack of body movement but as for Muneera and her baby I wanted to know what happened to them or even if Jyoti would help her more then. As for the marbles I though Prof. Jani gave a good interpretation with Mohsin not being able to be a child again due to the trauma he received. I really liked that Aarti was left the way she was. It was moving to see her looking so hopeful by just getting out of the house and doing something on her own. That may have been as big as she could have gone at that point. There didn’t need to be her going back home and that drama or her leaving for good and having that drama. I liked that the film left her, after all of her self-torture and guilt, smiling into the sun. I completely agree though on being glad that we watched this over Slumdog Millionaire. It was a very moving film without being overdramatic for the sake of drama, it just really seemed like these were real people going through this time after the riots.

Leave a Reply

