Firaaq Reacion

I was, unfortunately, unable to make it to our last class today (wedding planning has been taking a toll and I was out-of-town). Anyways, I was really intrigued by the opening scene of Firaaq last week, so I decided to finish the film on my own.

My first reaction: Wow. The film was thought-provoking and seemed to have a high level of authenticity. At times, I found that Firaaq was difficult to watch – yet, necessary. The film did a wonderful job of conveying the horror associated with the religious violence in India.

One thing I want to clarify is my use of the word, ‘authenticity’. I realize that this has been a much discussed topic throughout the course – debating who or what is truth. In the case of Firaaq, I’m leaning towards a more accurate truth as opposed to an ‘Orientalist’ truth. My reasoning for this is simply because it doesn’t fit the mold we’ve seen in Gunga Din, Indian Jones and the Temple of Doom, or even Slumdog Millionaire.

 The film was produced in an Eastern culture and (despite the biases that every human places upon their work/beliefs) I believe it’s about as authentic as we can hope from a film. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

