Eastern Representations; at the zoo?

So this weekend I am babysitting and today I took the girls to the Columbus Zoo. It was the perfect day with great weather and so much fun watching how much the girls love it. Obviously they couldn’t wait to see the elephants, which led us to what the Columbus Zoo calls the “Asian Quest”. I never would have even thought about anything in this section of the zoo until this class. I immediately noticed how everything was portrayed as exotic. The walls were plastered with proverbs, Gandhi quotes and the like. I thought it was just really interesting how differently I viewed this exhibit after this class!! Below are some pictures I snagged of my “quest” through Asia.

obviously welcomed to asia by a dragon and a crystal ball that talked to us 

and clearly monkeys can only play on ancient runes

 

 

 

 

 

 

t

his sign was just so funny to me

 

 

Leave a Reply

