Interesting Article

While sitting on my porch this morning on vacation enjoying my cup of coffee, I came across this article in the NY Times. (That makes me sound like I actually read the paper, really, I read the Times every morning on my laptop.) We had discussed a couple weeks ago in class about different parts of India having different types of people. I thought this article was really interesting. This woman seems to have a pretty negative view on the rest of India besides Mumbai. I put the questions out to those who know more than me, is this accurate? Is Mumbai really the only part of the country a woman could go without fear of rap everywhere she goes?

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/21/opinion/21iht-edfaleiro21.html?_r=1&ref=india

One thought on “Interesting Article

  1. Thanks for sharing the article. I definitely see her perspective, but, I think generalizing (the majority of) India as a corrupt, wicked place isn’t fair. I was actually shocked when she wrote, “Without Mumbai, India would be less remarkable.”

    I guess it’s fair to say that I’ve never been to India and can’t give a firsthand account but hers seems a bit extreme.

Leave a Reply

