On Being Politically Incorrect

First, I need to introduce myself. I’m the 60 Plus student with the hearing aids and I want to thank you all for speaking up.

Last night I saw one of the old movies at the Ohio, Airplane. a satire produced in the 70″s.  Hardly a category of persons got through the movie  unscathed And , of course, the Indian was no exception, identified by his turban, costume, skin color, and accent. When the plane was expected to crash, he poured gasoline all over himself and struck a match. Fortunately the plane righted itself and the match went our without explosion. Noone escaped the satiric pen, even the good looking white pilot who not too subtly reveals he is a pederast.The question arises–if a writer is inappropriate with everyone does this get him off the hook for being politally incorrect?

One thought on “On Being Politically Incorrect

  1. Hmm. This is an interesting question, and one that resonates pretty deeply with me. I’m a man of comedy, and I like to poke fun. Shows like The Boondocks, which comments heavily on black American culture and race relation between blacks and whites, are absolutely hysterical to me, and I loved Airplane, too. I think it’s okay to satire and make fun.

    I think what makes us as consumers of this irreverent humor feel guilty about watching it or as comedic beings makes us feel uneasy about promoting it, is that every sarcastic remark contains a grain of truth, meaning that often times remarks made in the name of satire or irony actually reflect some of the real opinions of their authors. This sort of racially-aware comedy becomes unacceptable when it comes from a mindset of assumed superiority.

    What doesn’t help my case, however, is that this kind of humor would ideally be consumed by people who are culturally aware enough to realize that these things are jokes and aren’t true of every member of the group. However, I think there are many who laugh at these jokes because the othered representations of these different groups resonate with their views of those groups, and that’s something I often think about when I’m laughing at “racist” humor–“This is funny, but I’m not laughing because I believe it’s true, am I?”

Leave a Reply

